Hopes for ‘Jane Eyre’

Converting a classic novel, or any novel for that matter, into a movie is always a little bit risky. So any attempt at visually recreating Charlotte Bronte’s masterpiece is going to be no mean feat. This has led to many hopes and fears on my part about whether or not they’re going to completely destroy or (however unlikely) improve it. ‘Jane Eyre’ is one of my favourite Victorian novels, only to be surpassed by her sister’s ‘Wuthering Heights’.

What I hope they do:

Keep Jane plain. This is Jane’s whole character. She is not particularly beautiful, amazingly intelligent or even slightly funny. Therefore, the choice to use the fairly anonymous Mia Wasikowska is a wise choice. However, having not seen her performance in ‘Alice in Wonderland’, I really couldn’t tell.

As for Mr Rochester, what can I say. He’s not allowed to be pretty as he is quite famously not a handsome man. It’s his teasing charm that entices Jane (seconded by the fact she has never before received attention like his) and therefore the choice of the fantastically charming and experienced Michael Fassbender is bound to be perfect. His extreme masculinity opposed to the inexperienced and feminine Mia will, hopefully, work wonders on the screen.

However, what does not bode well for my above point is that I had to search on the extended character page on IMDb. If this is any reflection of Rochester’s involvement in the movie then I will be, not only disappointed but, mortified. St John Rivers however is billed second. Yes, second!! I’m sorely hoping that this does not mean that they director has decided to take some ‘artistic’ take on Bronte’s original work and make Rivers the male lead. We must wait and see.

This brings me on to what I hope they don’t do. Firstly, the above. But I shall not dwell on that any longer. Secondly, I hope they do not wash over the significance that Rochester’s wife plays. Even a flashback scene would be a nice touch though I do not hold much hope. Thirdly, and finally, I hope they don’t down play the importance of Jane’s time at Lowood because, in my opinion, this is a substantial and important part of her life and the book.

Unfortunately, my pondering will not change how the film turns out, therefore, I shall simply have to wait and write a follow-up review once I’ve seen it. Lets hope it’s juicy!

Leave a comment

Filed under Book Reviews, Books, Film, Movies, Reviews

Leave a comment