Danger Days: The True Lives of the Fabulous Killjoys

I decided to go back to my dark, depressing emo ways of all those years ago once more and look into what my favourite band of the time, My Chemical Romance, are now up to. Turns out they’ve had a new album for 2 years now so I thought I’d check it out. I appreciate I’m behind the times here but bear with.

And my god … I love it. It’s not for everyone I must admit but then again, that’s MCR’s nature as a band. I was pleased to see they followed on the theatricality of The Black Parade with a new theme and storyline that went throughout the album (Danger Days: The True Lives of the Fabulous Killjoys). Instead of the ominous memory of a parade from when they were young, this time they take the comic book theme on and are all ‘superheroes’ which even went to the point of them all having new names and personas. These are seen in the music videos for ‘Na na na’ and ‘Sing’ which was even directed by front man Gerard Way – I also have to say these two are probably some of my favourite songs from the album though I’m sure this will change when I get to the stage of knowing every song word for word.

Image

I must admit though, at the moment I am still a die hard Black Parade fan but it’s good to see that they have moved on to a slightly altered style of music which is fresh and interesting. Give it a week of having the album on my iPod and I will have changed my mind on which MCR album I like best. And for those of you who thought they would not even listen to MCR if your life depended on it because they’re so depressing, no fear! The new album is still about rebellion and individuality, but with the solution of standing up for what you believe in with a fun twist … rather than just slitting your wrists about it. 

Picture from: http://www.mychemicalromance.com/media/photos

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a comment