Dangerous Liaisons (1988)

So as I said before, I have watched the film version of Choderlos de Laclos’ Les Liaison Dangereuses after reading the novel. The first viewing of the casting for certain characters is always interesting, and I was especially excited to see who would be cast for the Vicomte de Valmont and the Marquise de Merteuil! I think that John Malkovich and Glenn Close were perfect choices. Close was the perfect age during shooting to help her achieve, as well as through her acting ability, the social butterfly with the dark secret that is Merteuil. Also, John Malkovich is both charming and diabolical.

However, what was interesting to see was the director/producer’s take on the relationship between these two character. Laclos’ ambiguous style as a writer makes it difficult to make out in the novel so we are merely presented with a variety of options. Interestingly, this adaptation takes on the idea that the Marquise is still in love with the Vicomte after their affair and throughout his later exploits. Also, the leave no possibility of ambiguity as the Vicomte states his love for Madame de Tourvel as true. Although I like that they decided on one possibility and went with it, I would have rather they left a little more to the imagination as they made it seem like the Marquise was the villain in this case whereas the Vicomte made great personal progress which I do not agree with. I did not get this image of them at all when I read the book as they seemed to me equally confused as to their feelings and what path they must take. 

Also, there wasn’t enough investigation into the rest of French society at the time as the book explored exploits of other people of the likes of these 2 characters. However, this is only a slight negative and apart from that I enjoyed the film though it may be of an acquired taste and seem more understandable if you have read the book yourself. 

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a comment